Dispatches from the Writing Front: The New Torrie

I thought I’d start a new post category today, occasional (weekly?) updates on works-in-progress or dispatches from the writing front. I’m not going to be putting up anything to give the story away, but fairly cryptic reports, enough, I hope, to tease and intrigue, or to reassure friends of the various established characters that yes indeed, things are happening.

In the case of Torrie, I’m afraid this report is more to inform you that things are not happening, but — take heart — eventually they will again. Most of these dispatches are going to be about the new story set in Moth’s world (i.e. the sequel to Blackdog), which is what I’m working on at present, but as I’ve had a few questions lately about the next Torrie book, I thought I’d update you about that.

The new Torrie, long-promised, was put on hold in order to work on an adult book, a sequel to Blackdog. It’s about half done. Torrie, you’ll be happy to know, has just (at the point that I stopped) been taken prisoner by a supposed ally. Wren and G. (a new character you won’t have met yet, though he is mentioned in passing in Dragonslayers), having survived a flash flood and attack by … I don’t want to give that away, but they’re very nasty creatures … have met a dancing dragon and have drunk some tea. The rest of the party is, possibly, riding into ambush. There are elephants. And there I’ve left them all, waiting patiently.

About K.V. Johansen

The author of Blackdog, The Leopard, The Lady, and Gods of Nabban, epic fantasies from Pyr, I also write for teens and children, including the "Torrie", "Warlocks of Talverdin", and "Cassandra Virus" series, and the "Pippin and Mabel" picture books, as well as a couple of short story collections and two works of adult literary criticism on the history of children's fantasy literature. I have a Master's degree in Mediaeval Studies, and read a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and history. Blog at thewildforest.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Blackdog, Dispatches from the desk, Moth, Torrie, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dispatches from the Writing Front: The New Torrie

  1. Madison Woods says:

    Hi, Just wanted you to know that I’m enjoying Blackdog. It takes me a long time to read a novel, though, because I don’t get enough time to just sit down and read. So even though it’ll be a long time before I’m finished, I’m enjoying the process!

Leave a Reply

