Canon(fodder)

I was quite excited when an Italian scholar of Germanic philology, Verio Santoro, wrote to me saying he’d like to send me a copy of his book La Ricezione Moderna della Battaglia di Maldon: Tolkien, Borges e gli altri; “The Battle of Maldon” is a work I’ve always been very interested in, since long before my undergraduate attempt to write a translation of it; my first introduction to it was Tolkien’s play “The Homecoming of Beorhtnoth Beorhthelm’s Son”, which I read as a child. I didn’t at first realize that Dr. Santoro was sending it to me because there’s half a chapter in it about my prose-poem “Anno Domini Nine-Hundred and Ninety One: Two Voices”, which is included in The Storyteller.

It’s a book I’m quite eager to read, and not just for the discussion of my reinterpretation of “Maldon”; the whole subject is something I’m interested in. As I don’t read Italian, though, my progress is slow, using Latin and a huge Cambridge Italian dictionary (which for some reason is the second-largest dictionary in this dictionary-filled household, outweighed only by the Oxford Universal).

About K.V. Johansen

The author of Blackdog, The Leopard, The Lady, and Gods of Nabban, epic fantasies from Pyr, I also write for teens and children, including the "Torrie", "Warlocks of Talverdin", and "Cassandra Virus" series, and the "Pippin and Mabel" picture books, as well as a couple of short story collections and two works of adult literary criticism on the history of children's fantasy literature. I have a Master's degree in Mediaeval Studies, and read a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and history. Blog at thewildforest.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Currently reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

