Ginger beet soup

In lieu of an update on progress on the book, which should be done by tomorrow, I think (if saying so didn’t just jinx it), and due to my having found a large bag of beets in my fridge and needing to deal with them before they go wibbly, thewildforest blog is pleased to present a beet soup recipe I seem to have come up with some time ago. As you can see, left to my own devices I resort to the Nanny Ogg school of ingredient measurement, the “some”. All the below should read as “some”; even the number of beets would be better represented by “some beets” than half a dozen. Please note, much to my mother’s dismay I also adhere to the school of cookery that believes a good soup is one in which a spoon can stand upright. You may want to add some more water. Or some fewer beets. Or something.
This is my own aide-memoire written after the first time I made it (or possibly I typed it out to send to a sister, can’t remember). Anyway, that’s my excuse for the sophisticated terminology.

Very Tasty Beet Soup

six cooked beets
an onion
lemon juice
cumin, coriander, ginger (generous amounts; real ginger would be good)
miso
pinch of sugar

Sautee onion in oil with spices. Add lemon juice and scrape around to get all the brown stuff.
Put three beets in blender, add one cup of water and cooked onions; blend. Dump back in pot. Do second three beets with a second cup of water and enough miso for two cups of stock (two smallish spoonfuls), blend and return to pot. Stir up, add a tiny bit of sugar and heat, stirring. Add pepper and a dash of olive oil.

About K.V. Johansen

The author of Blackdog, The Leopard, The Lady, and Gods of Nabban, epic fantasies from Pyr, I also write for teens and children, including the "Torrie", "Warlocks of Talverdin", and "Cassandra Virus" series, and the "Pippin and Mabel" picture books, as well as a couple of short story collections and two works of adult literary criticism on the history of children's fantasy literature. I have a Master's degree in Mediaeval Studies, and read a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and history. Blog at thewildforest.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ginger beet soup

  1. pugmantis says:

    I might have to try this when the weather cools down a bit … roasted beets would work, oh Nanny Ogg?

    • KV Johansen says:

      They should. I usually just boil them and then use them the next day, to obviate the scalding of the fingers while trying to peel inadequately-cooled beets. Canned ones work too, but I usually think of this when relatives have brought me a basketful. I’m guessing it would make a nice carrot soup too, though I’ve never tried it.

Leave a Reply

