Not epic fantasy but an epic sweater

Why is it epic? Well, it’s dense, complex, consists of many interlaced strands, and is not something you knock off in an evening. It has also been restarted several times, showing more similarity to my writing method than I like in a mere hobby. Also, the end result should be elegant, sturdy, and endure for many wearings, regardless of passing fashion. All in all, I’ve seen worse metaphors.

So here it is, a sweater designed by myself using Alice Starmore’s Book of Fair Isle Knitting to “design your own gansey”. What you see here is the cable cast-on bottom edge with half a row of corrugated ribbing begun. I’m making it to be rather oversized, both because I like my sweaters to fit large, and because I don’t trust myself and my gauge swatches and this way, if the knitting ends up being tighter than in my test piece, I’ll still be able to wear the sweater. fairisle1

I expect it’ll take rather longer than a book to finish, given that, well, I have books to write, and that is my work, whereas knitting is only play. And crocheting? That’s play too, and I enjoy it a lot more than knitting, which requires grim concentration, I find. However, proper mittens that stand up to real life outdoors, and Fair Isle sweaters, are not achieved by crocheting.

Alice Starmore’s excellent book has been reissued by Dover, by the way, ISBN 9780486472188.

About K.V. Johansen

The author of Blackdog, The Leopard, The Lady, and Gods of Nabban, epic fantasies from Pyr, I also write for teens and children, including the "Torrie", "Warlocks of Talverdin", and "Cassandra Virus" series, and the "Pippin and Mabel" picture books, as well as a couple of short story collections and two works of adult literary criticism on the history of children's fantasy literature. I have a Master's degree in Mediaeval Studies, and read a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and history. Blog at thewildforest.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in making things, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

