Mr Wicked’s Leap Day Adventure

So, Leap Day … I’m all for leaping, especially if the humans let me run free, free, free … which they don’t very often because I’m an EvilWickedHusky and also full of German Shepherd brains, which means I think about things. Like, yes, you want me to come back but I want to sniff this thing over here and maybe eat it, so first I’ll sniff and maybe snack. Then I’ll come back. You just be patient and wait. (You shouldn’t have taught me the concept of “first … then …” if you didn’t want me to apply it. Oh. Do I have to stay on my rope the whole time?)

White down in a brown field, with blue sky and some red dogwood.

This is me, and I am outstanding in my field. Aren’t I handsome? (I certainly am, and I know it. )

But yesterday it was like Spring, even though it was Winter, and we went for an Adventure to the place we get to go in Summer. We drove and we drove and we drove … and there was the ferry. You don’t drive on ferries. You sit and say “Grr” out the window at the ferry-guy, because he’s walking up and down the ferry in a Suspicious Manner. He’s up to something. Why do the humans always roll my window up?

So here we are, on the Evandale Ferry.

The Evandale ferry on a balmy Leap Day.

The Evandale ferry on a balmy Leap Day.

And then we drove some more. Some people call it the bog road. I’m not sure why. But we have a Jeep!

The road was a bit exciting, but we kept all four paws on the ground.

The road was a bit exciting, but we kept all four paws on the ground.

And we had a picnic. Picnics are good. The humans did not take pictures of me eating ham sandwich crusts, but I did. I had to. The humans forgot to pack any dog biscuits. Foolish humans! But I got to have tea, too, so that was okay. And I like to sit in the sun and look at things and smell the wind.

Dog with river in background.

At the lookout.

Here is the River.

St. John River, February 29, 2016.

St. John River, February 29, 2016.

At this time of year it is supposed to be all ice, the humans say. It isn’t. Look at the ice floating by. It might be cat-ice, strong enough to hold a cat. It was not strong enough to hold a dog. I tried to stand on some and it sank. No leaping across ice-floes like my arctic ancestors. (Maybe that’s why the humans kept me on my rope?)

River landscape, with ice.

The St. John River again. The human accidentally set her phone to sepia.


The river, with ice in foreground.

Isn’t this almost the same view? And why aren’t I in this picture?

Look, it’s Leap Day and I’m leaping! Leap! Leap! Leap!

Dog and log.

The approach …


dog and log

The take-off …


dog jumping log

And the leap!

(Do you know how many times I had to do that before the humans got a photo that had more than my tail in it? But that’s okay. I like jumping over things.)

I went downriver to visit the Terrors, Bonnie & Macintosh. They’re my friends. But their humans weren’t home and when they barked out the window I suddenly remembered that sometimes they look after a Truly Evil dog who is scary and I had a panic attack and tried to run away. I know the Truly Evil dog is about the size of my head, but he’s still Truly Evil and Scary. (The human says, Mr Wicked, you’re supposed to be a great tracker, can’t you tell from the widdle that Evil Dog isn’t here? But how does she expect me to apply logic when I’m having a panic attack?)

[The human thought she took a picture of Bonnie and Macintosh through their window, but the truth is, the human can’t see what she’s doing with her phone without her reading glasses, which she does not normally wear when Adventuring, and apparently she didn’t. Which is too bad, because they looked very cute with their wee Scotch noses pressed up to the window and their little tails waggling.]

We went to look at the River again to soothe my nerves.

Dog by river.

Recovering my nerve after inciting a barking frenzy in my Westie friends. I like to play with them, actually. I just have delicate nerves.

We couldn’t go home on the Gagetown ferry. The government cancelled it again and this time they’ve really made sure it’s cancelled. Look at those big posts in the road. I widdled on them. Now the guys who watch the security camera that watches the sign in case of vandalism have something to look at. (Widdling on signs is not vandalism; it’s just being a dog.) Look, that’s Scovil’s Landing over there. I like the road from Scovil’s Landing. It has trees and osprey and wild sunflowers and more osprey, and turtles and milkweed and horses and mules to bark out the window at … going over the big bridge is boring and so is the highway. There’s no ferry guy to bark at on the highway. And what about the birds? This ferry had a bird-house and tree-swallows on it. What happens when the swallows come back and their ferry is gone? Humans should think more about these things.

barrier blocking access to ferry landing

No more Gagetown ferry. No more nautical tree swallows.


Flood gauge post.

Flood gauge at Gagetown landing. No flood so far this spring.

Well, no ferry to Scovil’s. So we drove and we drove and we drove, and we came home and had supper. I was very tired from all the excitement. And that was my adventure. At least I didn’t have to have a bath. All my mud fell off in the car.

About KV Johansen

The author of Blackdog, The Leopard, The Lady, and the forthcoming Gods of Nabban, epic fantasies from Pyr, I also write for teens and children, including the "Torrie", "Warlocks of Talverdin", and "Cassandra Virus" series, and the "Pippin and Mabel" picture books, as well as a couple of short story collections and two works of adult literary criticism on the history of children's fantasy literature. I have a Master's degree in Mediaeval Studies, and read a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and history. Blog at thewildforest.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in dogs, Photos, The Adventures of Mr Wicked and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mr Wicked’s Leap Day Adventure

  1. Paul Weimer says:

    What an adventure for Mr. Wicked! 🙂

Leave a Reply

